Your Thoughts: Wheaton’s Law

No one wants to be that guy. If you do, you’re doing it wrong and deserve everything that comes your way. The sad part of the WoW experience, or really any experience in life, is that there will always be someone who is being that guy. So what’s the best way to deal with them?

It should be noted that the title “that guy” can be applied to more than just dickwads. I was running an instance on my shaman yesterday and got into a Blackrock Spire group. I’ve been having lag issues that are maddeningly not being resolved, however I was confident that I could heal the instance successfully. When I got into the instance, the tank was still in Ebonhold, and after a few minutes of not showing she said over party that she didn’t think she was good enough to do this instance, and that she figured it would be a sucky experience. I’ve been a novice tank before, so I knew the nervousness and the trepidation that one can field when it comes to being the tank, especially early on in the leveling experience, and as a death knight at level 58. I was sympathetic and tried to encourage her to come into the instance so we could get started. She was unconvinced at first, but I knew that I could heal her through about anything and keep the rest of the party up at the same time (well within reason. If she pulled more than 2 groups I might have some troubles). Since she took so long, the level 65 hunter in our group started pulling with her pet, which was big enough to take the mobs without taking any damage, but once the tank got in and I earth shielded her, the hunter ceased. We went 2 pulls before the tank just up and left the group. I had extended support and confidence in her, and then she turned into that guy. To top it all off, the rest of the group bailed. Maybe they saw that I was lagging a little bit, or that the level 65 was a bit pull-happy with her gorilla. I don’t know. They all classified as “that guy” to me.

There are other examples in other games, like my TF2 stint last night that was plagued by the voice of a high teenager who could say nothing but foul language, offensive racial names, and inappropriate taunts in general. Perhaps it was fitting that he was playing a Scout, and that he sucked.

So how do you deal with this sort of thing? Well in the case of the instance I got ditched in, you really just have to suck it up and requeue, especially if they aren’t on your server. I knew that I had shown effective healing in those two pulls, so I knew it wasn’t my healing that drove them away, and anything else doesn’t really matter. I doubt I’ll be grouped with them again, and if I do, I’ll know what to expect. With the TF2 experience, it’s as easy as switching servers or muting the dick. I stayed in with my friend so we could chuckle at the complete ass he was making of himself, asking for the server admins to ban him. Of course they refused.

So how do you deal with that guy?

2 thoughts on “Your Thoughts: Wheaton’s Law

  1. Tough situation to be in – I think as you get older wisdom and experience helps you avoid situations like this entirely more than anything. Over the years in WoW I’ve learned to do this by keeping a good network of friends and contacts. No matter what I’ve wanted I’ve always been able to get trusted/reliable people to help me get there.

    Farming nightmare fragments in vanilla for my Scarab Lord/AQ Quest chain comes to mind here. To comfortable kill the trash around the portals you needed 10-15 people with more making it easier. The trash was annoyingly difficult to kill and the shards (back then) were a 1% drop. You can imagine it was no easy task to convince these people to hang around doing something annoying for no reward!

    The worrying thing I’m finding with WoW, these days, is that no matter what you do or where you go you’re confronted with situations like this. Instead of the question “So how do you deal with that guy?” I would put a different one to you – upon whom does stewardship of these lost and apathetic fall?

    • Well dealing with that guy is a concern in general for dealing with the sort of people who don’t know how to have fun or have some unredeeming social ineptitude. For dealing with the lost and apathetic? Well in some situations there’s nothing you can do. Someone’s definition of fun in the game is really their definition. There isn’t much we can do to affect someone elses opinion. However for those that are rescuable the task falls to those of us who have been around for years to point them in the right directions, telling them what we think the most fun parts of the game are, and encouraging them to diversify how they play the game.

Leave a Reply

